Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Bath Central School District Board Approves Next Class for “Haverling Hall of Distinction”

The Bath (Haverling) Central School District Board of Education has unanimously approved the 3rd annual class for the Haverling "Hall of Distinction".
Of several candidates, the Nomination Committee selected three (3) candidates to be recommended for the next class. All three were selected from categories of Medicine and Science, Arts and Entertainment, Business and Professional, Humanitarian and Service, and Lifetime of Notable Achievement.
According to District Superintendent Joseph Rumsey: "While it is important that we prepare our kids for the 21st century, it is imperative that we never let them forget our traditions and what it means to graduate from Haverling!" Rumsey added: There have been many Haverling graduate leaders who have positively impacted our world from their vision, creative ideas, and tireless efforts. It is time to honor these individuals and to share their stories with our students to inspire the leaders of tomorrow.
The Class of 2016 for the Haverling Hall of Distinction is as follows (in alphabetical order):
Dr. Stanley Chapman (Class of 1964)--- Dr. Chapman spent many years working in the field of Infectious diseases and in the Medical field. Dr. Chapman was a commissioned officer assigned to the National Institutes of Health, and he served as the Chief of Infectious Diseases and Chief of the Medical Service at the University of Mississippi. Dr. Chapman was also a Council Member of the National Institutes of Health and was elected to the American Clinical and Climatological Association. If those accomplishments weren’t enough, Dr. Chapman also was commissioned in the Mississippi Air National Guard where he completed Flight Surgeon training and served as the Chief of Aerospace Medicine and Clinic Commander for the base. Dr. Chapman retired from the Air National Guard at the rank of Colonel. Dr. Chapman retired in 2008 and since the Department of Medicine and Medical Center have named an annual distinguished research lectureship in his name and a semi-annual CME symposium in Infectious Diseases. These are just highlights of a long and distinguished career that was full of fantastic achievements and awards.

L. Jay Dickson (Class of 1959)--- Mr. Dickson has the longest tenure of any member in the history of our school’s Board of education. He served on the school board for 38 years from 1974 to 2012. Mr. Dickson also served on the Steuben Allegany BOCES Board of Education for 10 years serving from 1996 to 2006. Mr. Dickson has spent over 40 years dedicating himself to the community, especially the youth throughout the Steuben County region.

Mr. Daniel Finnerty (Class of 1988)--- Mr. Finnerty is the founder of the musical group "The Dan Band", dubbed by Entertainment Weekly as "the Hottest ticket in Hollywood". The Dan Band has been the house band for The Ellen DeGeneres Show, Pajama Party and Spike TV’s "Spike Guys Choice Awards". The Dan Band has also had numerous TV appearances on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, Jimmy Kimmel Live!, The Late Late Show, Last Call with Carson Daly and others. As an Actor, Dan has had many roles on Television Shows such as TV’s Mysteries of Laura, King of the Hill, Veronica’s Closet and others. As an actor in feature films Dan has appeared in movies such as The Terminal, The Wedding Planner, Old School, Starsky & Hutch, The Hangover, Rock of Ages and many others. Dan was also a member of the off Broadway hit show "Stomp".
All inductees and families will be invited to the annual Alumni Banquet at the Bath VFW on June 17th for a formal recognition ceremony. For reservations to the banquet, please call 607-368-2435 or visit the Haverling Alumni Association Facebook page for more information.