Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Donations sought for Law Enforcement Park memorial

BATH – As Steuben County celebrates more than 200 years of county law enforcement this week, memorial efforts remain under way to honor police and peace officers within the seven-county region who have died in the line of duty. The county Sheriff’s Department is accepting donations for a permanent memorial in the proposed Law Enforcement Memorial Park. Donations from the public and interested organizations will be placed in a special capital funds account approved by the county Legislature in June. Donors will be able to purchase memorial pavers that will surround a raised pedestal formed in the shape of Allegany, Chemung, Livingston, Ontario, Schuyler, Steuben and Yates counties. The pedestal will support a life-size statue of a law officer answering the call to duty. Those honored include:
· Constable Normal Chalker
· Constable Jay D. Close
· Chief John J. Finnell
· Detective Sgt. Charles Gradwell
· Policeman Aeneas McDonald
· Trooper Robert Roy
· Trooper Arnold T. Rasmussen
· Patrolman August Richard Michalke
· Patrolman Clayton H. Grannis
· Undersheriff Ernest Kerski
· CO Harry Miller Swartz
· Deputy Gordon E. Brinthaupt
· Deputy Roy Bower Hazen
· Deputy Jack Fennell
· Deputy William Leach
· Undersheriff Ralph Legg
· Deputy Lester John Miller
· Policeman Charles E. Rose
· Trooper James D. Conrad
· Sergeant Daniel J. Swift
· Trooper Ray C. Dodge
· Investigator Robert L. VanHall, Jr.
· Deputy Truman J. Becker
· Deputy Malcolm D. Strong
· Sergeant John Charles Hawley
· Deputy James Chiverton
· Trooper Lawrence P. Gleason
· Deputy Derek P. Ward
· Trooper Andrew J. Sperr
· Deputy Jeffrey L. Alexander
· CO Daniel J. Barkley

The targeted date of completion is May of 2018, at the annual Law Enforcement Memorial Service. For more information, call (607) 622-3930 or email