Wednesday, October 5, 2016


Coudersport - Cole Memorial held its 50th Annual Meeting at the Coudersport Consistory to present the annual business report, elect new Directors and Community Benefit Advisors, present distinguished service awards to individuals who made significant long-term contributions to the success of the hospital and launch the Hospital’s 50th Anniversary. Over 100 Board Members, Community Benefit Advisors and hospital leaders attended.
The results of the 2016 election for the Board of Directors were announced. J. David Buckler, Melynda Budd, Jeanne Miglicio, Esquire and Thomas Shaffer, Esquire were elected to the Board for three-year terms.
The 2016-2017 Board of Directors will be comprised of the following individuals: Chair Charles Updegraff; Vice Chair Thomas Shaffer; Treasurer Jeanne Miglicio; Secretary Alanna Huck; David Buckler; Melynda Budd; Michael Callahan, D.O.; Christan Caramia, M.D.; David Crandall; John Leete; Robert Smith; Jason Tronetti, D.O. and Betty Wallace.
Ron Caskey was lauded for exceptional participation on Cole Memorial’s Board and for reaching the maximum nine-year term. He was presented a personalized, logo-embossed wooden chair as a token of appreciation from the Board.
Seven current Community Benefit Advisors were re-appointed for a second five-year term. In addition, the following new Cole Memorial Community Benefit Advisors were named: Tammy Conway; Abbey Johnson-Ernst; Pamela Ferman; Nancy Fragale; David Greene; Dr. Michele Hartzell; Tonia Hartzell; James Kockler; Tim Morey; Amy O’Rourke Costa, RN, BSN, CSN; Kimberly Rees; Reverend Tom Shatto and Andy Watson.
In keeping with the practice of recognizing those who had a significant impact on the long-term success of the hospital, four individuals were elected as Honorary Directors.
Cole Memorial named Reverend Randall Headley as an Honorary Director for his nine years of dedication on the Board, two of which he was the Chair. But while his service to Cole was more than impressive, his dedication to his parishioners and service to the Hospital’s patients was nothing less than remarkable.
Another 2016 Honorary Director’s position was filled by Peter Ryan, D.M.D. Dr. Ryan started in 1976 when he was recruited by Dr. Castano and Ben Stimaker to provide dental services in Potter County. After retiring in 2013 with 37 years of service, he and his wife Debbie wanted to be sure that the community received continued access to dental care. So, the Ryan family generously donated their dental office to Cole Memorial and Dr. Ryan served on the local Dental Collaborative Committee to assist with the formation of the Cole Memorial Dentistry program in 2015. Additionally, he served the Hospital as a member of the Potter County Hospital Authority for almost 30 years and chaired for the last 10 years.
The final two Honorary Directors are a couple who have devoted their lives to serving the community in many ways. Cliff and Fay Wood moved to Ulysses in 1962 when Cliff accepted a teaching position; Cole Memorial has been blessed to be included in their volunteer mission ever since. Prior to her recent passing, Fay held the record for the highest number of volunteer hours at the Hospital while Cliff served on the Board for seven years. Cole Memorial is grateful to have the Wood family as Cliff still carries on the tradition of volunteering at the Hospital.
In preparation for Cole Memorial Hospital’s 50th Anniversary celebration in 2017, high school artists were invited to submit artwork for an anniversary banner contest. Several local students participated and votes were received via Cole Memorial’s Facebook and entered at a Hospital display. The following top three winners received $250 each during the annual meeting: Tiffany Bair, first place; Autumn Heller, second place; and Eve Olofson, third place. The winner’s design will be used in 50th Anniversary materials or banners throughout the next year.